Two Sense for Climate Change

Documentary — An Inconvenient Truth — Al Gore

Okay, finally got around to watching Al Gore’s famous The Inconvenient Truth. I personally liked how he spoke with such passion and interest. His tone just drew me in and held my attention from start to end. I think it’s very difficult for anyone to be able to enthuse an idea to others like that.

The content was pretty much just that — content. I’ve browsed (because it’s so hard to read them properly) many articles and news and all about these kind of stuff, so I can say I have a good inkling of what’s going on? Anyway I would think these kinds of presentations and articles and speeches are mainly to convince — and especially by Al Gore, to get people to think and discover for themselves — to accept this “Inconvenient Truth” and want to do something about it.

… But… how?

A big how.

Armed with this knowledge, it’s time to translate it to action. Or that’s what I keep telling myself. I just don’t have and can’t find {excuses, my dear self} the strength – or courage, or will – to change my life.

Okay you or whoever may say, “well just plant some trees!”, or use energy-efficient appliances! and LED lightbulbs! Cycle or walk to places! … …

I don’t deny that these are reasonable environmentally-friendly alternatives simple enough to adopt immediately, but… I don’t see real change or impact in that. Gernot Wagner, author of But Will the Planet Notice?: How Smart Economics Can Save the World {which is a very interesting book tying economics to the environment – I’ll get to that some time}, worded this perfectly, “What you and I do individually does not make a least bit of difference on its own.” In fact, when one opts for environmentally-friendly alternatives, there are many who would “gladly make up for the missing environmental footprint.”

That is not to discount the goodwill and effort people put into action. It’s actually quite encouraging to see that some humans actually do care about the environment enough to want to play a role. I admit that there may be internal and external factors hindering such small but decisive actions. But I do think we need to see things a little deeper and realise a bit more.

Then on to those who still don’t care, even adamantly refusing and refuting posts or whatnot persuading and advocating action. These are sooo annoying. There will always be people “throwing tantrums” or “rebelling” against this advocacy messages and videos, reminding me of this age-gap conflict between pubescent teenagers and parents.

So what if it’s over-rated? So what if people seem hypocritical? So what if those climate dudes are rich blokes and you’re this poor ol’ ordinary person? So what if the term “climate change deniers” is technically incorrect? So what if you’re religious? So what if that scientist guy is a dumb-looking guy? So what if this PhD dude gathers information from other sources instead of carrying out his own experiment?  So what if it’s part of nature that these hurricanes and droughts happen? So what if these hurricanes and droughts happen elsewhere? So what if you think the Chinese are going to take over the world? So what if your local motor company is going bankrupt? So what if your cat doesn’t care?  SO WHAT?

Foremost, I don’t care if this climate change thing is politicised or uglicised or pompousasized or not. Everyone acts for themselves. It can be because of the scientific consensus, or because you care for the future generation, or because of the poor drowning polar bears, or because you love nature… Whatever. Everyone has different reasons for doing something, depending on their principles framing their worldview. Be it money, emotion, cute polar bears, I think one major reason why we should stop farting into nature’s trees is that we are being selfish. The world didn’t come free. The resources nature supplies are neither free nor infinite. We have no right to be farting and shitting into nature’s face as we wish. We don’t deserve to steal and shit everywhere we please. We are taking things for granted, and not being appreciative.

It may be argued that I’m being hypocritical for saying all these, when I myself am in cahoots with the anti-nature-appreciative mafia gobbling down chips and breathing out CO2 behind a computer screen and all. But that’s an argument fallacy okay, ad hominen, meaning attacking the author personally to discount his words {I studied well, thank you to my teachers -bows-}. Anyhoo reality’s reality. I try to change, and I hope we can escape this self-absorbed pit both physically and psychologically to see the bigger picture. Anyway Nature’s just gonna go bite us in the ass, just so you know.

Hopefully when everyone can happily agree with each other on this matter of climate change or global warming or we need to stop oil spills or pollution and all, perhaps we can come together to set some concrete steps and strategies. To quote Wagner quoting Obama:”Well, the truth is, Brian, we can’t solve global warming because I f-ing changed lightbulbs in my house. It’s because of something collective” (“Hackers and Spending Sprees” Newsweek. November 5, 2008). This means we can’t just act individually, or in-grouply. It has to be individually, nationally, socially, environmentally, economically, politically, and whatever-ly, all together. It’s all connected. You can’t have a linear system or way of doing things when the Earth’s round. Okay that’s lame but yeah. Everything is connected.

Leave a Reply

